14Steve14 wrote: ↑Thu Sep 05, 2024 7:59 am
Does the core compare tool actually compare files in live time. So if I were to edit and then save a file in the original folder, would core compare notify me that there is an updated file in the override file when I save the original updated file, or is that not what it does.
What it does is:
Downloads a full copy of the version you are running and places it in an admin folder core_compare.
If you upgrade Phoenix, it downloads a new version again to match your running version and again places it in core_compare folder
In the tool, you can delete old unwanted core_compare versions
The tool has 3 tabs, Added, Altered, Removed
Added - shows a list of all files that do not exist in the core_compare that do exist in your store
Altered - shows a list of all files you have changed that do not match the core_compare code. Files are hashed to calculate a change. There is also a button to revert, which will allow you to overwrite with a fresh copy from core_compare
Removed - shows a list of all files that have been removed and exist in the core_compare but not in your store
You can also click Settings to add excluded folders like langauges,old_site,upgrader,etc
I use this tool every time I assess a client upgrade. I then go through the files one-by-one and review coding changes and make notes in my IDE as to how to handle/ignore.