Trouble with setup

Ask the community for help and support.
PBR Streetgang
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2021 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Trouble with setup

Post by PBR Streetgang »

I've uploaded everything through ftp and I'm on the first installation page. I've created the database and made notes of users, passwords, etc so I can copy paste and not misspell anything. I've tried the ip and localhost for the server and I'm still getting this error.
Image
burt
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 1265
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:37 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by burt »

This means that something is not correct.

Did you correctly create database, user, assign user to database etc.
Ask your host for help?

If your host offers you softaculous via your hoating control panel, you could install from there. Ask your host.
Back in the saddle, one day a week, February 2022...
PBR Streetgang
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2021 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by PBR Streetgang »

Yes, I created the database through my cPanel, created a user, assigned and password and set permissions. I'll check on the softaculous route.
burt
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 1265
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:37 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by burt »

In cPanel the DB name usually (not always) looks like this:

abcdefgh_dbname

where abcdefgh is your hosting account name and dbname is your database. Suggest to ask host for help.
Back in the saddle, one day a week, February 2022...
PBR Streetgang
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2021 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by PBR Streetgang »

I spent time talking to host last night. They said use localhost. I'll see if there's another db name. Thanks
heatherbell
VIP Member
VIP Member
Posts: 1031
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:39 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by heatherbell »

PBR Streetgang wrote: Wed Dec 01, 2021 4:12 pm I spent time talking to host last night. They said use localhost. I'll see if there's another db name. Thanks
Yes, 'localhost' is for Database Server but 'FCG' for Database Name doesn't look right.
You should be able to see your Database Name by clicking MySQL Databases under Databases in your cPanel.
PBR Streetgang
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2021 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by PBR Streetgang »

Is there a step between creating my database and using New Installation where I'm asked for my database info?
FCG is what I named the database.
Image
ecartz
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 1577
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:02 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 146 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by ecartz »

This could also be a version problem. It is not showing the error message, which should appear after occurred and before Please. If this is a version older than 1.0.8.8 (the just released version), then you may be hitting a bug that was fixed for 1.0.8.8 that wasn't showing the version message.

You could test this by trying to install either 1.0.8.8 or an older version like 1.0.8.0. Note that if the version is the problem, then you would only be able to run older versions like 1.0.8.0. Versions newer than that are not compatible with MySQL versions before 5.7.7 or MariaDB before 10.2.2.

https://github.com/CE-PhoenixCart/Phoen ... quirements
PBR Streetgang
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2021 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by PBR Streetgang »

I get this error
There was a problem connecting to the database server. The following error had occured:
Please verify the connection parameters and try again.
PBR Streetgang
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2021 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Trouble with setup

Post by PBR Streetgang »

I just downloaded yesterday it so shouldn't it be the latest version? The New Installation page says CE Phoenix Cart v1.0.8.7
Is v1.0.8.8 available to download?
Post Reply