How to Secure

From Phoenix Cart User Guide
Revision as of 15:25, 3 October 2019 by PeterRobert (talk | contribs)

Secure the Website Warnings as shown below are given as reminders both on the admin dashboard and on the Security Checks page - from admin dashboard go to Tools => Security Checks.

Securewarnings1.png

Add a second level of password protection to the "youradmin" folder/directory on the server.

From the admin dashboard go to Configuration => Administrators, click Edit, tick the Protect With htaccess/htpasswd box then click Save.

Optional: Password protection can also be added in a similar way to the whole website to prevent visitors or internet search engines finding the website before it is ready - read How to Create a Test Shop#password protect - this can also be done on the cpanel in some host server accounts.

Optional:

Securewarnings2.png

Ensure both configure.php files have their file permissions set so only owner can read and write - right click on file and set File permissions to 644 or 444 dependent on server host.

Important: Our server only allows a 644 setting which causes the error message to remain on admin page - providing the setting is 644 this can be ignored.

Presuming a SSL certificate is installed - edit both includes/configure.php and youradmin/includes/configure.php on the server

In Filezilla - right click file - click View/Edit - change line 4 to define('ENABLE_SSL', true); - save and then back to Filezilla and click Yes to upload the file back to the server.

Important: includes/configure.php and youradmin/includes/configure.php are different files in different locations, never open both at once to avoid confusion and ensure they are transferred to the correct locations.

Securewarnings3.png

Delete this folder/directory from the server - right click and delete.

Securewarnings4.png

Delete this folder/directory from the server - right click and delete.

NOTE: If the Install page is still shows instead of your shop, ensure Install folder/directory has been deleted, ensure your browser cache is cleared - note some servers also have a cache so if still showing contact your host server to request they clear your server cache.

The README text file is no longer required.

Delete this file from the server - right click and delete.

<historylink type="back" />